The 2016 Euro Championships


Next Friday sees the start of the 2016 European Championships, and for the first time ever there’s four of the ‘Home Nations’ taking part, as England, Wales, Northern Ireland, and the Republic Of Ireland all take part in the tournament in France.


This will be the 15th edition of the Championships, and the biggest one yet, with 24 teams taking part.

The tournament starts and ends at the Stade de France (on the 10th of June and July respectively). The opening match sees the hosts take on Romania, and it must be noted that the last time a major football tournament was held in France it was the French that triumphed at World Cup 1998.

Both England and Wales (who have been drawn together) begin their quests the day after (June 11th) against Russia and Slovakia respectively, and Northern Ireland the day after that (12th June) against Poland, and then finally the Republic Of Ireland on the 13th June against Sweden.

This will be the debut in the European Championship for 5 countries; those being Albania, Iceland, Slovakia, and of course Northern Ireland and Wales. This isn’t really surprising considering that the first five tournaments only consisted of 4 teams.
Due to the increased number of teams taking part as you might imagine all the big guns are there with the exception of Holland who had a pretty disastrous qualifying campaign.

The Euro's have never been short of providing excitement. Who can forget the Marco Van Basten volley for the Dutch against the Soviet Union in ’88 final itself, or the next tournament when Demark won the triumphed despite not even qualifying for it (They were only entered after a civil war caused Yugoslavia to be declined entry), Gazza's goal against Scotland at Wembley in Euro '96, or more recently in 2004 when rank outsiders Greece despite never having previously even won a match at the Euros or the World Cup lifted the trophy.

All the matches can be seen on the BBC and ITV, as well as S4C in Wales and RTE and TV3 in Ireland.


Please see below for the squads taking part from each of the Home Nations, and lets hope it’s a tournament to remember for all the right reasons.

England Squad

Squad Number Name Position
1 Joe Hart GK
2 Kyle Walker DF
3 Danny Rose DF
4 James Milner MF
5 Gary Cahill DF
6 Chris Smalling DF
7 Raheem Sterling MF
8 Adam Lallana MF
9 Harry Kane FW
10 Wayne Rooney FW
11 Jamie Vardy FW
12 Nathaniel Clyne DF
13 Fraser Forster GK
14 Jordan Henderson MF
15 Daniel Sturridge FW
16 John Stones DF
17 Eric Dier MF
18 Jack Wiltshire MF
19 Ross Barkley MF
20 Dele Alli MF
21 Ryan Bertrand DF
22 Marcus Rashford FW
23 Tom Heaton GK

Wales Squad

Squad Number Name Position
1 Wayne Hennessey GK
2 Chris Gunter DF
3 Neil Taylor DF
4 -Ben Davies DF
5 James Chester DF
6 Ashley Williams DF
7 Joe Allen MF
8 Andy King MF
9 Hal Ronson-Kanu FW
10 Aaron Ramsey MF
11 Gareth Bale FW
12 Owain Fon Williams GK
13 George Williams FW
14 David Edwards MF
15 Jazz Richards DF
16 Joe Ledley MF
17 David Cotterill MF
18 Sam Vokes FW
19 James Collins DF
20 Jonathan Williams MF
21 Danny Ward GK
22 David Vaughan MF
23 Simon Church FW

Northern Ireland Squad

Squad Number Name Position
1 Michael McGovern GK
2 Conor McLaughlin DF
3 Shane Ferguson MF
4 Gareth McAuley DF
5 Jonny Evans DF
6 Chris Baird DF
7 Niall McGinn MF
8 Steven Davis MF
9 Will Grigg FW
10 Kyle Lafferty FW
11 Conor Washington FW
12 Roy Carroll GK
13 Corry Evans MF
14 Stuart Dallas MF
15 Luke McCullough DF
16 Oliver Norwood MF
17 Paddy McNair DF
18 Aaron Hughes DF
19 Jamie Ward MF
20 Craig Cathcart DF
21 Josh Magennis FW
22 Lee Hodson DF
23 Alan Mannus GK

Republic Of Ireland Squad

Squad Number Name Position
1 Keiren Westwood GK
2 Seamus Coleman -DF
3 Ciaran Clark DF
4 John O’Shea DF
5 Richard Keogh DF
6 Glenn Whelan MF
7 Aiden McGready MF
8 James McCarthy MF
9 Shane Long FW
10 Robbie Keane FW
11 James McClean MF
12 Shane Duffy DF
13 Jeff Hendrick MF
14 Jonathan Walters FW
15 Cyrus Christie DF
16 Shay Given GK
17 Stephen Ward DF
18 David Meyler MF
19 Robbie Brady MF
20 Wes Hoolahan MF
21 Daryl Murphy FW
22 Stephen Quinn MR
23 Darren Randolph GK