The Australian Open Tennis Tournament


Next week sees the start of the first Tennis major of the year, as the Australian Open begins on the hard courts of Melbourne Park.

Last year saw an upset in the Men’s Singles tournament as 8th seed Stanislas Wawrinka won his first ever major defeating Rafael Nadal in 4 sets.
Whilst Wawrinka will be hoping to win back to back titles, there will be no such happenings in the Women’s Singles tournament, as last years winner Li Na has since retired due to a serious knee injury.


There are 17 trophies on offer over the fortnight of action, with the winner of both the men’s and women’s tournaments taking home £1.6 million each.

Novak Djokovic & Serena Williams enter the tournaments are Number 1 seeds, and you can understand why, as they have 9 Australian Open titles between them – although strangely never in the same year.

From a British point of view 6th seed Andy Murray will be hoping to do better than last year where he was knocked out at the Quarter Finals stage last year by Roger Federer. He has however been runner up in 2010, 2011, 2013.