'Beats of the Beautiful Game' Celebrates Music, Film & Football

Pepsi Beats of The Beautiful Game

Football fans will be able to enjoy this summer’s World Cup to a backdrop of music and film which pays homage to the sport.

Pepsi’s Beats of the Beautiful Game features 11 tracks by artists from all over the world including stars like Rita Ora, Janelle Monáe, Kelly Rowland and Timbaland with each track having an accompanying video from globally-renowned producers such as Spike Lee and star of the 2014 film Mandela, Idris Elba.

The album – which celebrates the relationship between music, film and sport - is being released in conjunction with Cine Favela – a Brazilian non-profit organisation which supports young film directors throughout country which is set to host one of the most eagerly anticipated World Cup competitions in decades.

Alumni of the Cine Favela group feature on the album by providing the filmtrack to Pearls Negras’ rhythmic track, ‘Guerrelra’ – an exciting showcase of the hidden talent which breeds in the host nation.

Pepsi will be releasing one track per week (beginning on May 12 2014) as singles on the iTunes store while the filmtracks will be free to view the same day via the Pepsi website and on each artist’s YouTube channel. The complete 11-track Pepsi Beats of the Beautiful Game album will be released in the UK on June 9th.

You can watch the first video - Janelle Monáe's take on the David Bowie classic 'Heroes' with accompanying film by The Young Astronauts - below.

Beats of the Beautiful Game track list:

Janelle Monáe – Heroes, with filmtrack by The Young Astronauts
Don Omar – Pura Vida, with filmtrack by Jessy Terrero
Rita Ora – I Will Never Let You Down (Switch Remix), with filmtrack by Diego Luna
R3hab feat. Eva Simons – Unstoppable, with filmtrack by Idris Elba
Jetta – Crescendo
Kelly Rowland – The Game, with filmtrack by Spike Lee
Santigold – Kicking Down Doors, with filmtrack by Andy Morahan
Timbaland staring Rachel Assil – Whoever We Are, with filmtrack by The Kolton Brothers
Pearls Negras – Guerreira, with filmtrack by Cine Favela
Jolin Tsai Yl-ling – Now is the Time, with filmtrack by Cai Yiqi
Hassan el Shafei – Ahlam Men Gedial