Welcome To Silverstone

The pinnacle of British motor sport is here again Second only to the Italian in terms of age the British Grand Prix has been a staple of the F1 calendar every year that a season has been ran since 1926.

In years gone by the event has been held at Brooklands, Brands Hatch, and Aintree (yes the racecourse venue), but it has been held at Silverstone in Nottinghamshire every year since 1987 when a certain Nigel Mansell came across the line first.

A good note for the majority of the fans is that this event has been won by a British driver more than any other, although it must be said that even with 4 Brits taken to the grid on Sunday, it looks like the only serious challenge for the top spot (both for the race itself and the Championship Title) will come from Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton.

You would be hard pressed to look past Red Bull Racing though, with Championship leader Sebastian Vettel picking up his third win of the season at the last outing in Canada, and his team mate Mark Webber taking the chequered flag ahead of everyone at last years race.